FMM in my mind

Have you ever wonder what it is like to live in the convent? How can some people live in prayers and silence?

It’s been 10 years when I entered the convent and joined the Franciscan Missionary of Mary Institute (an International congregation for religious women), I somehow manage to live that kind of life. A life of what I called “letting go”.

I let go of everything that I have– my family, friends, job and even myself.

It’s an extraordinary, inspiring, and bravest (or craziest for some) thing that anyone can do.It is not all about sacrifice. It is an everyday struggle towards perfection to prepare oneself to His divine will.

Like any other relationship, it was harder to leave than to go in.

Living in the convent is not heaven on earth, some might find it boring and would not want to live there.

So, why do I tell it anyway?

As Robert Fulghum wrote, author of All I really need to know I learned in Kindergarten. There are places we all come from — that make us who we are. We turn our backs on them and find sense in which we need to go back again – to sanctify memory.

Though it’s hard to explain, I found my treasure there.

Published by: lucylu

A writer torn between Robert Fulghum and Sidney Sheldon. A mutant waiting to be found by Professor X. A lover of moon, second chances, and taking risk. Please feel free to contact me at lucy1020@yahoom.com

Categories UncategorizedTagsLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

