The guy never left me…

Politics is not my kind of thing. And If it would be the last thing I would think, I won’t bother.

There is always an exception to the rule, in some cases.

Way back, Presidential elections 2004. I voted for this guy whose charm to the youth was incomparable because of his advocacy in promoting honesty and good governance, aside from being a former senator and secretary of education.

A day in October is observed  in his hometown to honor this guy who died of cancer.

This guy hailed as “the best president the Philippines never had”. I strongly agree.

I still remember the morning of 06 August 2005 headlines in local paper written in bold letters the quotes, “WHEN I WAS 20, I WANTED TO CHANGE THE WORLD; AT 30, I WANTED TO CHANGE MY COUNTRY; AT 60, I REALIZED I WANTED ONLY TO CHANGE MYSELF” to publicize his death.

The quotes from the headlines haven’t left me. I was 30 then.

Raul Sagarbarria Roco (26 Oct 1941 – 05 Aug 2005)

“Eternal rest grant unto him, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon him. May he rest in peace. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

